Feb 20 2015

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review (And Link Party)

 

Hey beautiful people. Today, I’m posting a quick little Benefit Roller Lash Mascara review. To be honest, I had no plans whatsoever to review this new mascara. I know that many beauty bloggers and vloggers in the U.K. received a mini with the purchase of an Elle magazine. I’m not in the U.K., but when a friend made a recent exchange for me stateside, she got a deluxe sample of the Roller Lash which she kindly sent my way. Still, I wasn’t sure I’d blog about it – but several photographs and a week’s worth of wear later and here we are. 🙂

 

benefit roller lash mascara review

 

Benefit Cosmetics says: “It’s a roller for lashes! The eye-opening Hook ‘n’ Roll™ brush grabs, separates, lifts and curls…while the instant curve-setting formula holds for 12 hours. Contains Provitamin B5 and Serin, ingredients known for their lash-conditioning benefits. Water-resistant. Ink black. Satin finish.”

In true Benefit style, the little paper packing that this came in was too cute. Plus, it conveniently provided all the information regarding the mascara’s claims, so less words from me:

 

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review

 
Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review
 
Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review
 

Yes, the analogy to the hair rollers is a little gimmicky – but you can’t help but love, Benefit, right? Anyway, it’s all about the wand with this mascara, which is made up of many, many criss-crossed rubber bristles designed to super-charge your curls. (FYI – the rubber is pink).

 

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review Wand Close-up

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara (Side View; Back View)


 
Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review
 

I don’t necessarily have that much of an issue with curl. My lashes are not the most curly, but my main concern is volume, followed closely by length. I don’t have the challenge of mascara formulas making my lashes drop by by mid-day. That being said, everyone can use a little extra right?

The formula claims to be water-resistant, not water-proof but I didn’t experience any smudging. It is also a somewhat wet formula, though definitely not the wettest I’ve ever encountered. There is a tackiness to it that prevents it from being runny. Here are two coats of the mascara on my top lashes, one coat on the bottom

 

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review Applied to Lashes

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara – Two Coats

 

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Review Applied to Lashes

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara – Two Coats

 

It added decent, though not mind-blowing curl. Like I said, curl is not so much an issue for me. The length that the Benefit Roller Lash gave was probably the most impressive aspect of wand and formula. Volume was a little iffy. The overall affect of the mascara reminds me very much of my beloved Le Volume de Chanel. Basically, if you have lashes that are quite spaced apart like mine are, your lashes will verge on spidery with too many coats. Side note, that post was the 11th I’d ever done, within my first two weeks of blogging, hehe. Maybe I’ll update those pics as well?

Anyway, if the Benefit Roller Lash has given me just a tad more volume wise, it would have seriously challenged the Chanel in my life. It comes pretty close. One more thing, with so many pointy bristles on this brush going in different directions, this is a wand you will want to take care with during application. Applying on the bottom lashes can be tricky. All in all, I may consider purchasing a full size.

The Benefit Roller Lash Mascara will release on 27th February at all retailers of the brand. It’s available now on Sephora for VIB and VIB Rouges.

 

 

Let’s do something fun and different for this post, shall we? As mentioned, there are probably tons of reviews out there on the Roller Lash Mascara. Lashes are different and have different needs. So, share your perspective! Beauty Bloggers, if you have a review of the Benefit Roller Mascara, use the InLinkz widget below and join in on the Link Party! I’ve taken the liberty of linking in reviews that I already know about.

 

BENEFIT ROLLER LASH MASCARA REVIEW LINK PARTY:

 

 


 

 

 

 

Beauty Isles on social media: Bloglovin, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google+ and Pinterest!

 

 

 

 

The product mentioned was received as a gift with purchase. The purchase was made using the author’s own money. The thoughts and opinions expressed are the author’s alone. No affiliate links. For more information see Disclaimer here.

 

 

 

 

Beauty Isles Signature    

All items featured in this post were purchased by the author unless otherwise noted. Any products or services provided as PR will be marked with an asterisk "*". This website uses Skimlinks and this post may contain affiliate links.

26 comments

Skip to comment form

    • Eleanor on February 20, 2015 at 9:53 am
    • Reply

    From the pictures this mascara looks impressive! Might have to give it a go eventually, when I finish up my unnecessarily large collection of other mascaras… xx

    http://www.eleanorbroome.blogspot.co.uk

      • Kimmy on February 20, 2015 at 3:11 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      Hehe. I think a lot of people will enjoy it. I have to say mascara is a product I don’t tend to keep many of around but I totally understand how one can accumulate them!

  1. Great review Kimmy! I had been wondering about this mascara. It looks like it might good for a more natural look but yeah I agree that it doesn’t look like it gives very much volume. Thanks for sharing! <3 xo

      • Kimmy on February 20, 2015 at 3:31 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      Thank you and you’re very welcome, Katie. I think those with thicker lashes who want some extra oomph will really like this one! xo

      1. Yeah I agree 🙂 You’re very welcome! <3 xo

  2. I’m obsessed with Roller Lash, its amazing!!
    xprincessjas | ♥

      • Kimmy on February 20, 2015 at 3:30 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      Yay! I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying the formula, Jasmine. Thanks for stopping by, hun!

  3. Benefit packaging always looks so fun! I got a bunch of their products for my sisters for Christmas and I love their highlighting products.

    http://www.likewhateveronline.com

      • Kimmy on February 24, 2015 at 2:46 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      They are always fun! I think that sells it half the time, hehe. While I must admit not a fan of all the products I’ve tried, there are so many that I do love. The Porefessional and Box Blushes come to mind. 🙂

    • Jaa on February 21, 2015 at 11:55 am
    • Reply

    Looks like we share the same experience with this mascara! I have sparse lashes, too, so I have to be careful not to load them with mascara or they will look spidery. Thanks so much for including me! 🙂 The link party sounds like fun and what a genius idea to get people involved!

    Have a great weekend! Hugs! <3

    1. Of course I included you! These are fun and such a great way to share the love AND offer readers different perspectives on the same product. 🙂

  4. I do quite like this mascara! It works quite well for length for me which is what I look for most in a mascara! Not sure if I will get the big version though, it is quite pricey! x

    Jasmin Charlotte | UK Lifestyle Blog

      • Kimmy on February 24, 2015 at 2:48 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      Don’t you wish mascaras lasted longer? Some of the formula’s of the pricier ones are so great…just wish you could hang onto them for more time. 🙂

  5. Hey Kimmy, this does give your lashes major length! I probably won’t get along too well with it because I need a lot of extra volume, but I do like how it holds the curl, too!

      • Kimmy on February 24, 2015 at 2:50 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      I hope you get to test it out, at least. See what it does for you. Are samples hard to come buy in Belgium? They are here, in fact there’s really no such thing – but you know, I basically have a life line to the States. 🙂

    • kpsays on February 22, 2015 at 8:39 pm
    • Reply

    It looks like we have the same type of lashes. I am all about VOLUME! So you love the Chanel Le Volume? I’ve never tried it, but put it on my list. Going to your review now. I LOVE the packaging on the new Benefit products they’re launching. I think I am going to skip this one though, because I don’t like those plastic, spiky brushes. If I can score a sample, I would definitely try it, but not going to outright purchase one.

      • Kimmy on February 24, 2015 at 3:02 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      I hope you do get to score a sample. Yes I do love my Le Volume de Chanel – it occurred to me when I read your comment that my whole sentence about the Chanel mascara in this post was confusing. After re-reading it, I couldn’t tell if I was saying I loved it or not! Lol. I do. It also has plastic bristles but they are shorter and much more comfortable to use. xo

  6. Love the idea of the link party! So kind and cool 🙂 I love the effect this mascara gives! I can’t wait to try it cause I’ve seen so many amazing reviews… I’ve been checking the Benefit counter because often they launch things a little bit earlier here (I think they just don’t care for official release dates at our Sephoras!) but this hasn’t come out yet. I’m so curious! 🙂 xx
    Gyudy’s Notes Of Beauty

      • Kimmy on February 24, 2015 at 3:11 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      I love that…that they just don’t care for official release dates…I feel the same about our beauty counters sometimes too, lol. I hope you get to try it, Gyudy! I so wish I had an extra to spare for you, but, unfortunately, I don’t. 🙁 xo

    • Silke Laura on February 23, 2015 at 3:42 pm
    • Reply

    The link party is an awesome idea! I haven’t given in to the hype (just yet), you know how crazy Benefit can be in that area. Especially because their They’re real mascara didn’t exactly work for me I’m hesitant to give this one a go especially when it doesn’t curl nicely. Is the mascara very ‘wet’ or rather light?

      • Kimmy on February 24, 2015 at 3:22 pm
        Author
      • Reply

      They’re Real was not my favourite either. I don’t think I’ve ever talked about it on the blog…maybe mentioned in an empties? It’s OK but doesn’t blow my mind. Thank you for bringing it to my attention that I mentioned nothing about how wet or dry the formula is. Hmm, OK if “wet” is 10 and “dry” (or light) is 1, then this is about a 7. Does that help? I almost think it has little fibers in it as well but I couldn’t find anything officially from Benefit mentioning this. Jaa said in her review that she noticed the fibers as well. xo

  7. It made your lashes look so long, but I would like to have more volume. I think I’m not going to pick it up…

    Laura
    Pink Frenzy

    1. I agree, I definitely need more volume. 🙂 But for length it is good.

  8. My lashes are similar – long but sparse. I need volume, and like a thicker, dryer formula. Really wet mascaras can make me look like I have 5 eyelashes, lol. My fav is the Guerlain Maxi Lash.

    1. I don’t mind a wet formula, but I definitely noticed that wetter formulas give more length than volume. I actually just tried a sample of the Guerlain Maxi Lash and I agree, it gives really good volume. 🙂

  9. I really, really love this mascara! Here is my review: http://beautylymin.blogspot.ie/2015/03/review-benefit-roller-lash-mascara.html Thanks for inviting me to the party! xx

Share your thoughts with us!